Becoming the Domesticated Diva

Finding my inner homemaker… one flub at a time!

Orange Creamsicle Cake

on April 17, 2013

So I was at Target a month or so ago and was rummaging through the $1 racks and found the *cutest* Easter plates and napkins.  I decided it was a sign.  I had to make something delicious for Easter with my family.  Not something for dinner, my dad always takes care of that.  But something for dessert.  My husband has been doing a lot of the grocery shopping for us since I’ve been home with our son, and with me watching our pennies and clipping coupons, I gave him the grocery list asking for two Duncan Hines ( http://www.duncanhines.com ) cake mixes; buy one, get one and a coupon – how could I resist? – but I didn’t specify flavors.  He came home with strawberry (a house favorite) and orange.  Orange?  We never eat orange.  What the heck was I going to do with an orange cake mix?

Well, I decided Easter was the perfect excuse to use my orange cake mix.  And boy am I glad I did.  I knew somewhere I could find a recipe for a “creamsicle cake” – and this one was perfect.  Moist and delicious – and easy.  Found it on http://www.cooks.com.

Creamsicle Cake

  • 1 orange cake mix
  • 1 small pkg. orange Jello
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • 1 (8oz) container Cool Whip
  • 1 small instant vanilla pudding
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. orange extract (optional)
  1. Mix orange cake mix according to directions.  Pour into 13×9 in pan and bake according to instructions.
  2. Remove cake from oven and poke holes in the cake 1 inch apart with a fork.
  3. Mix Jello with 1 cup hot water and 1/2 cup cold water.  (Follow instructions on package)
  4. Pour evenly over cooled cake.
  5. Mix Cool Whip, instant pudding, milk, vanilla (and orange extract if you want).  Beat until thoroughly mixed.
  6. Spread evenly over cake.

I didn’t use the orange extract (because I didn’t have any) and it still tasted amazing.

Good luck with your baking readers!  I’ll be sharing another new recipe soon!  🙂

Orange creamsicle cake!

Orange creamsicle cake!

One response to “Orange Creamsicle Cake

  1. Carolyn R Smith says:

    and as a person who was lucky enough to get some of this cake, let me tell you…….YUMMY.
    you can make one anytime for any family meal, or just for one of my drop by visits.

Leave a Reply

