Becoming the Domesticated Diva

Finding my inner homemaker… one flub at a time!

The journey began..

on March 4, 2013

May 19, 2012.  The day that changed my life.  🙂

As my long term readers might know, my husband and I decided at the beginning of 2012 that we were ready to start having babies.  We went on vacation to Washington DC in mid May and we knew there was a chance I could be pregnant.  By the time we came home, it was pretty obvious – especially to my husband.  🙂  Still, I almost didn’t believe the first test.. or the second.  For about three days, I took a test every morning.  Until the doctor confirmed with the blood test, I couldn’t believe it.  And then we got the total confirmation.  I was definitely pregnant.

preg test

No one ever tells you how emotional it all is. Or how consuming it can be.   You read about it and you talk about it with friends, but you never really realize how much it is until you’ve been there.  I have to admit, the first couple months – even up until month six at times – I was terrified of having a miscarriage.  I’ve had friends who had them and I thought it was probably the hardest thing someone would have to go through.  Then I look at those strong women and I see how brave they are to just get back on the wagon and try again; because although you’ve done everything possible right; sometimes, it just happens.  I was happy that I was becoming a mother – and that I could pretty much eat all the time, a big perk.  🙂  I was nervous I would do something wrong, not be a good mom, or that my child might develop.. something, anything.  I was excited about getting his room ready, buying him clothes.  At some point along the way, you realize that its not about you anymore, its about your child.  I rarely look at clothes for myself anymore, mostly because clothes for him are just so darn cute.

We wanted to wait a while before telling everyone – though of course it slipped out.  To tell my parents, we made up a sign:

2012-06-05_17-49-38_163

To a few friends, we were just too excited to wait any longer to tell them.  And to my boss, well.. about 7 weeks in my blood sugar dropped and I almost passed out in the Zaxby’s drive through, so that was the day I had to tell her.  Finally, after almost 3 months – we were able to share with everyone on Facebook.

527150_10101175981176141_1065865988_n

There were many more adventures to be had, I quickly learned.  So this entry is only the beginning…   🙂

Leave a Reply

