Becoming the Domesticated Diva

Finding my inner homemaker… one flub at a time!

Green clean? I think I can do that!

on March 22, 2012

Many of you readers know that my hubby and I are getting ready to try for a baby.  So for the last few months, I’ve been basically in “prepare” mode.  I’ve painted the “baby’s room” and my husband put up some wainscoting, we’ve been coming up with names, looking at decorating ideas and reading up on things.  Since I’ve been working on the cleaning thing.. I’ve also started to think about “green” cleaning products.  I recently read an article, “Expectant mamas should limit use of toxic household cleaning products” from pregnancyandbaby.com that stated children that were around toxic cleaning products have a higher risk of youthful asthma.  There are so many things that could go wrong with having a baby, being a parent to a toddler.. the last thing I need is to add to it.

So I read up on some “green” cleaning methods.. on Martha Stewart’s website, homemakerschallenge.com and inhabitots.com.  Today’s chores including cleaning my master bathroom, so I figured, what the heck.  Let’s try it.  And, wow.  Pretty darn cool!  No overly “clean” (aka floral, etc from the chemicals), no major scrubbing, and the best part – no chemical headache!

I started with my shower head – soaking it in straight vinegar.  Just pour white vinegar into a gallon size ziplock bag, rubber band around the neck of the shower head and waa-la!  Within a few minutes, I already started seeing floaties coming off of the shower head.  Gross!  But super cool!  Letting it soak for 8 hours, cleaning off the excess with a toothbrush and  should be good to go.

Can you see the gross floating around in the bag??

My rubber band didn't fit super tight, so I had to prop up my shower head to make sure it would be covered by vinegar. I just stuck it on top of my recycle bin.

I also tried baking soda.  I never did the whole “make a volcano” thing in school – but this would be close enough to doing that!  🙂  To do a monthly cleaning of your pipes, pour 1/2 cup of baking soda followed by 1/2 cup of vinegar down the drain.  Let it sit for about 5ish minutes (long enough for me to clean the toilet!) and then pour boiling hot water down the drain.  The baking soda and vinegar will break up the soap scum and gunk which will help loosen hair balls, the boiling hot water will help to push them down.  Pretty neat right??  Plus, no nasty smell – it actually just smells.. fresh in the shower.  Not too bad!

A little baking soda and vinegar = a drain volcano!

So there you have it readers – some green cleaning you can try yourself in your bathrooms.  Try it out and let me know what you think!  I’ll bet you notice a much easier, fresher way to clean – plus, you’ll save some money too!  🙂

One response to “Green clean? I think I can do that!

  1. Sherry says:

    Love reading your blog. Thanks for the tips going to try them on my next cleaning day

Leave a Reply

