Becoming the Domesticated Diva

Finding my inner homemaker… one flub at a time!

… welllll ….

on March 24, 2010

Today I didn’t quite make it to my 5 minute makeup.  Sorry loyal readers!

I’ve been fighting off various illnesses for going on 2 solid months, and today another popped up.  Not to go into any gross detail, but I currently am going through yet another side effect from the 3 different antibiotics I was on during February.  So, since we’re on makeup this week, and I didn’t do it today, I thought I’d share some of my fave makeup tricks I learned during my Estee Lauder days!

Fun trick #1:  Grab an eyeliner brush!  If you have a great crazy eyeshadow color, but not sure how to wear it – dip your eyeliner brush in a tiny bit of water, dab off the excess and rub into your eyeshadow.  Then draw a line across your eyelashes, just as you would eyeliner.  Waaalaa!  Eyeshadow is now eyeliner!  (Also works great if you’re out of your regular eyeliner and have a similar color shadow.  With it being wet, it comes out a bit darker than regular shadow!)  AND – if you ever wanna do that saucy winged eyeliner look, the eyeliner brush is your best bet!

Fun trick #2:  In serious need of 3 more hours of sleep? Grab some light yellow/white/cream eyeshadow!  Rub some (preferably with an eyeshadow brush or q-tip – not a sponge tipped applicator) in the corner of your eyes near your nose and under your bottom lashes.  Be sure to blend well!  Satin finished eyeshadows work best since they catch light and really make the whites of your eyes more apparent.

Fun trick #3:  Invest in a great foundation brush.  Yep, you read that correctly.  A foundation brush.  Rubbing on foundation with your fingers leaves it streaky and transfers more oil onto your skin.  Using a sponge actually soaks up your foundation so that you’re actually wasting more foundation than you use.  And by the time it stops soaking up the foundation, it’s so full of germs, you’re actually rubbing those on your face.  A foundation brush is a great tool that gives you an even finish – AND can be washed with regular hand soap every few days to prevent germ build up!  The video below gives some helpful hints on how to use it if you’ve never tried!

Hope you all enjoy the hints!  Let me know if any of them work for you!  🙂

3 responses to “… welllll ….

  1. Kim says:

    I agree about the foundation brushes! My makeup – Revlon Age-Defying SPA – has one built in. It’s fabulous!

  2. Leslie Ackerson says:

    Ummmm.. You would die if I told you how long I’ve had my little foundation pad! Never knew about the germs… Figured since my face was clean everytime I used it, it wasn’t a big deal. Yikes! I read all of your posts! Interesting! I need some new tips, but don’t do so well reading them! Can I book an appt with my friend to come see me and have a make-up day? I miss and love you bunches! Keep bloggin girl!

  3. Haha – Leslie, I love you! I’m not working at Estee Lauder anymore, but I could sure use some quality catching up time! Let’s plan a date! 🙂

Leave a Reply

