Becoming the Domesticated Diva

Finding my inner homemaker… one flub at a time!

Day One – Purple!

on March 22, 2010

I started my morning a little late..  what can I say?  I like my sleep.  I knew today would be a long day and I figured I could use the extra 15 minutes.  🙂  So, I slept in a few.. took a nice long shower and managed to make it to work on time – without makeup.  However, I can’t let my newly acquired (soon to be huge) fan base down, now can I?

So, I headed into work, with my trusty mini makeup bag in tow.  I figured I needed to take some before and after pictures just to prove it could get done.  (See attached!)

My “before” shot                        My “after” shot

Today I decided would be purple.  For my 5 minute makeup look, I used Estee Lauder DoubleWear Powder, Clinique’s QuickEyes cream shadow, some brow pencil, eyeliner and lip gloss.  I mention the two items specifically because both are supposed to last all day – and as I mentioned earlier, with my oily skin, that rarely happens.  And – it just so happens, they did.  Picture me surprised!  I knew the DoubleWear powder was good stuff, but I will now swear by it for life.  It covered all the stuff I wanted covered, and left me looking more flawless (a definite plus).  I’d still use regular foundation from time to time – but for a 5 minute makeup, this stuff rocks.

Anyway, I’m now nearing the end of my long day and getting excited about tomorrow.  Who knows what color I might try next!

Stay tuned!  🙂

3 responses to “Day One – Purple!

  1. Kim says:

    So what type of foundation is the Double Wear? I have trouble finding things that stay on AND won’t settle into my *shudder* wrinkles. What are the colors that you used? 🙂

  2. Kim – the Double Wear is Estee Lauder and it actually comes in 3 forms: the powder (that I used) has light – medium coverage, regular formula which has medium coverage, and the “light” formula which has a light coverage and lighter feel. They all have an SPF 10, and its really just a matter of preference on what sort of coverage you like. I actually wear the DW Powder and the DW Light depending on day/event. The DW Powder to me is the most convenient because you don’t have to worry about sponges (or foundation brushes – which is a WHOLE other post!) and its portable. Here’s a link in case you’re interested! It is a bit pricier than most over the counter foundations, but mine usually lasts me 3 – 6 months.

    (PS – I’d say you would wear Ecru or Desert Beige, but if you decide to try it, go get a free color match at an EL counter!)

    http://www.esteelauder.com/product/spp.tmpl?CATEGORY_ID=CAT643&PRODUCT_ID=3151

  3. Kim says:

    Oooh, thanks April! 🙂 I’ll definitely check it out!

Leave a Reply

