Becoming the Domesticated Diva

Finding my inner homemaker… one flub at a time!

Where do I begin?

on March 21, 2010

I suppose at the very beginning…    a very good place to start.  🙂

I’ve always been a busy person.  I generally take on more than I should, but somehow manage to get it done.  However, this means I sometimes forget about.. well, me.  And now that I’m married, I have more than just me to worry about.  So, I’ve decided that I will start documenting my efforts to become a better person, a better wife and soon a better mother.  One day at a time.  🙂

Today’s adventure is makeup.  As a former makeup artist for Estee Lauder, I sort of have a love for all things makeup – the crazier the better.  I think doing your makeup, getting your makeup done, and shopping for makeup are some of the most fun things girls can do.  Yes, girls.  Because although women generally wear more makeup than girls do, girls always had FUN with makeup.  Somewhere along the way I think women lose their love of doing their makeup.  Possibly because they realize that they’ve grown up and there are a million things more important than doing something fun or interesting with makeup…. or even wearing it at all.

Therefore, this weeks mission will be to try to experiment something new and different with my makeup every day and get it to:

1. STAY IN PLACE  (for my oily skin, a sometimes difficult task)

2. Be original.  Not the same ole, every day.. but something new and fresh.

3. Get it all done in 5 minutes.

Now, I know – you’re thinking, “5 minutes?!” – but yes, 5 minutes.  If there is anything I learned while my time at Estee Lauder is that full makeup CAN be done in 5 minutes.  Maybe not ALL the steps that a woman generally does, but, some of those aren’t always necessary anyway.

So, here’s to our first adventure together.  I’ll keep ya posted on how it goes..  🙂

2 responses to “Where do I begin?

  1. Carolyn says:

    make up in 5 minutes. i can do that. it’s all the cleansing, toning, and moisturizing that takes so long once you reach 50. it would be nice if that could all be done in one step.

  2. Hmmm. That’s a good idea. Perhaps that will be next week’s challenge! 🙂

Leave a Reply

